What Lies nominated for Libris Award as Nonfiction Book of the Year

The Canadian Booksellers’ Association has announced the nominees for its annual Libris awards for books, publishers, booksellers and authors.

What Lies Across the Water: The Real Story of the Cuban Five is nominated for Nonfiction Book of the Year.

The  nominees in the category include:

  • The Massey Murder by Charlotte Gray (HarperCollins)
  • A House in the Sky by Amanda Lindhout and Sara Corbett (Scribner)
  • Clearing the Plains: Disease, Politics of Starvation, and the Loss of Aboriginal Life by James Daschuk (University of Regina Press)
  • The Lonely End of the Rink: Confessions of a Reluctant Goalie by Grant Lawrence (Douglas & McIntyre)
  • The War That Ended Peace: The Road to 1914 by Margaret MacMillan (Allen Lane Canada)
  • Orr: My Story by Bobby Orr (Viking Canada)
  • Arthur Erickson: An Architect’s Life by David Stouck (Douglas McIntyre)
  • An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth: What Going to Space Taught me About Ingenuity, Determination, and Being Prepared for Anything by Chris Hadfield (Random House Canada)
  • The Great Escape by Ted Barris (Dundurn)
  • What Lies Across the Water by Stephen Kimber (Fernwood Publishing)

The winner will be announced at an awards gala in June.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *